Network Learning Project: Phase 1

This week in CEP 810 we are starting our Network Learning Project. For this assignment we have to pick one skill to learn only through the use of help forums and Youtube Videos. Fitness is a huge aspect of my life so I decided to learn a new skill that would help to step up my game in the gym. I have always wanted to try Crossfit, but I have never actually went  to  a class. A common Crossfit move is a muscle up. 

(OFFICALTHENX, 2016)

 

The techniques used are similar to that of a pull-up,which I have finally mastered. Since our course is only seven weeks I do not have much time to perfect this skill. To make a more realistic goal I am trying to attempt to do at least one assisted muscle up. To do an assisted muscle up you use resistance bands. I have purchased bands that have extra light, light, medium and heavy resistance to use for this.

Assisted Muscle-Up

the-right-way-to-make-a-resistance-band-workout-1b

(Percia, 2016)

I have already found myself using many of Jenkins’s New Media Literacies in the beginning phase of this project. Play has allowed me to captivate the idea for my Network Learning Project, performance has granted me the ability to set a reasonable learning goal and simulation is the act of me training for an assisted muscle up. Appropriation, judgement and networking are new media literacies that will help me to collect and interpret information to excel in this project (Jenkins, 2013).

In my initial exploration I have found so many helpful Youtube videos. There are many videos that give step-by-step tutorials on how to do a muscle up with the resistance bands. The videos that I have found most helpful are the ones that break down each part of the movement and explain how the move works and how it connects to the next movement. This will help me to master each step individually before I put it all together.

I am excited to learn the techniques for an assisted muscle up. I have also found helpful videos that I will be able to use in the future that help me to progress from an assisted muscle up to a normal muscle up. Completing my goal of an assisted muscle up will help me to learn and grow in my fitness. Please check back in the next few weeks as I update you on my initial progress.

Network Learning Blog #2

References

Jenkins, H. (2013). Create Circulate Connect Collaborate. New Media Literacies. Retrieved from http://www.newmedialiteracies.org/

N.A. (2018). Muscle Ups. In Bodybuilding.com. Retrieved from https://forum.bodybuilding.com/showthread.php?t=132647213&pagenumber=1

OFFICALTHENX. (2016, May 22). How to muscle up the best way 2016. Retrieved from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2uyHqRGJmZ4

Percia, Joey. (2016). The right way the make a resistance-band workout. In Bodybuilding.com. Retrieved from https://www.bodybuilding.com/fun/the-right-way-to-make-a-resistance-band-workout.html

 

 

2 thoughts on “Network Learning Project: Phase 1

Leave a comment