Professional Learning Network (PLN)

 

The National Education Technology Plan (2017) states that the majority of teaching is done in isolation…and that “many educators do not have the information, the time, or the incentives to continuously improve their professional practice from year to year” (p. 39). Educators are not given the necessary time and resources to become effective in new professional growth areas, so they must create it. They must take time outside of their “working” hours to make connections within their profession. This means that in order to have professional growth, educators must be proactive in their Professional Learning Network (PLN) in order to effectively grow through communication and collaboration.

Professional Learning Network

Above is a Popplet (2013) I created to reflect my current PLN. The three main identities I utilize to collect information about teaching, education and best practices are Michigan State University (MSU), Social Media, and Saginaw Township Community Schools (my school district). Knowing that I am not given ample time and resources, I must find and create it on my own. The first community I became a part of was MSU. I utilized my classes, professors, advisors, colleagues, course material and the library to help guide my learning. I still rely on many of these resources today. Through my undergraduate years I familiarized myself with social media and began to follow educators on YouTube, Teachers Pay Teachers, Instagram and Pinterest to help give me inspiration and motivation in the classroom. Most recently I have been relying on my school district to guide me in my first years of teaching through my colleagues, mentors, administrators, and professional development. All three communities together have a vital impact on my education and growth.

As I progress through #CEP810, I am excited to see how my PLN grows and changes. Education changes with society, and my PLN should be a reflection of those changes to ensure success for all students.

 

References

Popplet (2013). Retrieved from http://popplet.com/

Office of Educational Technology. (2017, January). Reimagining the Role of Technology in Education: 2017 National Education Technology Plan Update. Retrieved from https://tech.ed.gov/files/2017/01/NETP17.pdf

Leave a comment