Getting Things Done (GTD)

David Allen’s Getting Things Done framework has guided my knowledge and understanding of what it means to be organized and how to manage workflow through five stages: collect, process, organize, review and do (2001). After collecting the items that need to be completed, the following flowchart helped me to process and organize the information. I utilized Wunderlist for this process, making the review and do steps easy to accomplish.  

original-gtd-flowchart_1_orig

I downloaded the Wunderlist app and fell in love with its ease of use. This technology mashed well with Allen’s framework. I was able to create different lists for different areas of my life (groceries, school work, wedding checklist, etc). I ordered my lists and ordered the items within each list, helping me to prioritize specific items. One of my favorite components was how I could link items to my calendar and set reminders. There is also the option of sharing lists with others, which allows you to chat and sync items. This is one way of collaborating and ensuring that all items on your list get accomplished. I have not yet found any parts of this app that I do not like but I do see some possible constraints. This app automatically updates using WiFi or data. If you do not have WiFi or the ability to use data all of the time, then you will not be able to edit yours lists. I can see this being problematic when sharing lists with others. If your list has not yet updated because you have not connected to the internet, then it could make the sharing feature difficult. This is something to think about when deciding whether Wunderlist is a good app for you. I am excited to use Wunderlist in conjunction with David Allen’s framework to help organize my workflow.

 

References

Allen, D. (2001). Getting things done: The art of stress-free productivity. New York: Penguin.

“Mastering Workflow. Processing and Organizing” by www.davidco.com is licensed under CC David Allen & Co.

 

Leave a comment