Cooking with TPACK

This week we got to experience TPACK in a hands on quickfire activity. In this activity we were given a random plate, bowl and utensil and had to complete a mystery task. I was given a paper plate, paper bowl and a spoon, and my task was to cut up fruit for a fruit salad (using an apple and orange). Check out my Cooking with TPACK Video. TPACK stands for Technological Pedagogical and Content Knowledge and its framework is based upon the idea that together, in the intersection of technology, pedagogy and content, is where the best teaching is conducted (Kereluik, Mishra, & Koehler, 2011).

 

tpackImage retrieved from http://matt-koehler.com/tpack2/tpack-explained/

The purpose of this quickfire video was to examine and integrate technology, content and pedagogy in order to successfully complete the given task with the given tools. In this activity, the technology were the tools I had to complete the task, the content was the understanding of what is a fruit salad, and the pedagogy was knowing the steps to make a fruit salad. I had to repurpose the tools I was given in order to create this fruit salad.  I utilized my paper plate as a cutting board, the paper bowl became the holding spot for the cut up fruit, and I used the end of the spoon on its side as a knife. I did not think that I was going to be as successful as I was at repurposing these tools. I thought I would have had greater difficulty cutting the apple, but the orange was actually more challenging. The end of the spoon worked well as a knife to cut the fruit into smaller pieces and to scoop out the apple core. Repurposing helped me to successfully complete this task.

In the classroom you may know what to do (content), but you may not know how to do it (pedagogy) or you may not have the necessary tools (technology) available to accomplish it. In order for successful teaching to occur, you must look at the intersection of pedagogy, technology and content. You must plan and think of all three components for each lesson you are trying to teach. Repurposing occurs when the skill or technology is not present. To meet the needs of the diverse learners in your classroom, the pedagogy and technology you use must change alongside the content and that of the individual learner.
References

Kereluik, K., Mishra, P. & Koehler, M.J. (2011). On learning to subvert signs: Literacy, technology and the TPACK framework. The California Reader, 44(2), 12-18. download .pdf

One thought on “Cooking with TPACK

  1. kayliequimbyblog says:

    I loved watching your video. It was great how you repurposed the spoon to become an essential tool for you in this video. I would have never thought to use the other end of the spoon to start the peeling of the orange, genius! I also did the fruit salad challenge and it was great that you specified what the bowl and plate will be used for. This helps the viewers so the purpose in all the tools. Your “think-alouds” were great and showed what you were thinking all the way through the challenge. Fantastic job!

    Like

Leave a comment